Universities Canada membership votes in favour of non-discrimination criterion

October 26, 2016
twitter icon facebook icon
Newspapers on laptop

OTTAWA – Universities Canada’s members voted in favour of a new non-discrimination criterion at the association’s fall membership meeting today. The adopted criterion demonstrates member universities’ commitment to diversity and inclusion. It states:

“With respect to all institutional policies and practices, the institution affirms its commitment to equal treatment of all persons without discrimination, on the basis of race, religious beliefs, colour, gender, physical or mental disability, age, ancestry, place of origin, marital status, family status, sex, and sexual orientation, or other grounds identified in applicable human rights law.”

Paul Davidson, president of Universities Canada, welcomed the decision as evidence of a consensus around the concept of equality in higher education. “Our diverse membership has come together around a shared commitment to non-discrimination, which sends a signal to Canadians that higher education in this country will treat all students, faculty and staff fairly.”

Current members of Universities Canada have until 2020 to make any required changes to meet the criterion. All prospective members will need to meet this new criterion – along with other criteria for membership – immediately.

Universities Canada is the voice of Canada’s universities at home and abroad, representing the interests of 97 Canadian public and private not-for-profit universities.


About Universities Canada
Universities Canada is the voice of Canada’s universities at home and abroad, advancing higher education, research and innovation for the benefit of all Canadians.

Media contact:

Lisa Wallace
Assistant Director, Communications
Universities Canada
[email protected]

Tagged:  Equity, diversity and inclusion, Universities Canada news

← Previous
Report promotes strengthening academic ties between Canada and the United States
Next →
Dominic Giroux named new vice-chair of Universities Canada

Related news

Universities Canada