IDeA program: winners of 2018 competition

We are proud to announce the winners of the 2018 IDeA competition.


  • Ali Sayed, Robert Ingino, Rui Amoah and Rijul Aggarwal of York University created a classroom simulation for visually impaired children.
  • Jack Chapman, Katie Gillespie, Emma Dornan and Grace Clarke of the Memorial University of Newfoundland created the MatHat, which supports the head for individuals who live with severe cerebral palsy.
  • Alicia Stewart of Carleton University created an Altera kit, which allows artists with cognitive and dextrous disabilities work more independently.
  • Stéphanie Gamache of the Université Laval developed an audit tool to assess the strengths and weaknesses of physical environments in terms of accessibility for persons with disabilities.
  • Lianna Genovese, Laura Carter and Alex Yeh of McMaster University created the Painter’s Guide, an assistive painting tool to help those with senstive fine motor skills.

2nd Place

  • Brandon Lewandowski, Carleton University
  • Carly Jones, Jeanie Malone, Taylor Molde and Avineet Randhawa, University of British Columbia
  • Hillary Scanlon, Wilfrid Laurier University
  • Marie-Ève Laforest, Université de Moncton
  • Robert Shudra, Carleton University

3rd Place

  • Elizabeth Hoskin, Queen’s University
  • Eric Maia, Lucas Poon, Meesam Haider and Filip Drobnjakovic, University of Ottawa
  • Jenny Suh and Alanna Bamber, Carleton University
  • Jessica Chow and Sharon Jang, University of British Columbia
  • Sara Santos, University of Toronto
Universities Canada