Universities Canada welcomes Sophie D’Amours as new board chair

October 30, 2019
twitter icon facebook icon
Sophie D’Amours, vice-présidente du conseil d’administration, Universités Canada, et rectrice, Université Laval

OTTAWA – Dr. Sophie D’Amours, rector of Université Laval, became Chair of Universities Canada’s board of directors today during the association’s fall membership meeting in Ottawa. Dr. D’Amours succeeds outgoing board chair Dr. Mike Mahon, president of the University of Lethbridge, who held the position since October 2017.   

Sophie D’Amours is an outstanding academic leader who is deeply committed to research excellence, advancing reconciliation and community engagement,” said Paul Davidson, president and CEO, Universities Canada. We are pleased she will bring her expertise and strong leadership to ensuring our universities remain at the forefront of solving the issues that matter most to Canada and Canadians. 

Dr. D’Amours was elected as the first-ever woman rector at Université Laval in 2017, following her post as vice-rector of research and innovation from 2012 to 2015 at the same university.  

“Canadian universities have an integral role to play in strengthening Canada’s ability to address global challenges, by empowering our next generation, continuing to strengthen Canada’s formidable research capabilities and building strong partnerships across civil society,” said Sophie D’Amours. It is my privilege to take on this role and I look forward to working with my fellow university leaders over the next two years.” 

Dr. D’Amours has extensive experience in higher education, research and university management, both in Quebec and internationally. An engineer, she has been the Canada Research Chair in Planning Sustainable Forest Value Networks from 2009 to 2017 and has served as board chair of the Centre de recherche industrielle du Québec (Quebec Centre for Industrial Research) since 2010. She also contributes to the boards of the Société québécoise des infrastructures (Quebec Infrastructure Corporation), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada, the International Development Research Centre and Fulbright Canada, among others. 


Universities Canada’s 2019-2020 board of directors: 

Universities Canada also welcomed Dr. Mary Bluechardt, president of Mount Saint Vincent University, as a new member of Universities Canada’s board of directors.  

Dr. Bluechardt is an experienced academic and administrative leader with a deep commitment to inclusion, mentorship and accessible education, and more than 25 years in the post-secondary sector across Canada. Before joining the Mount in July 2017, she was the vice-president (Grenfell Campus), Memorial University of Newfoundland.  

*Signifies new appointments 

Sophie D’Amours, Université Laval, chair 

Mike Mahon, University of Lethbridge, past chair 

Mary Bluechardt, Mount Saint Vincent University* 

Meric Gertler, University of Toronto 

Denis HarrissonUniversité du Québec en Outaouais 

Rhonda Lenton, York University  

Santa Ono, The University of British Columbia 

Alan Shepard, Western University 

Robert Summerby-Murray, Saint Mary’s University  

Annette Trimbee, The University of Winnipeg 

David H. Turpin, University of Alberta 

Franco Vaccarino, University of Guelph 

Paul Davidson, president, Universities Canada 

Universities Canada’s 2019-2020 committee chairs:  

Executive Committee
Sophie D’Amours, Université Laval 

Finance Committee
Daniel McMahon, Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières 

Nominating Committee
Mike Mahon, University of Lethbridge 

International Committee
Jacques Frémont, University of Ottawa 

Education Committee
Peter Stoicheff, University of Saskatchewan 

Governance Committee
Dawn Russell, St. Thomas University 

Research Committee
Patrick Deane, Queen’s University  


About Universities Canada
Universities Canada is the voice of Canada’s universities at home and abroad, advancing higher education, research and innovation for the benefit of all Canadians.

Media contact:

Lisa Wallace
Assistant Director, Communications
Universities Canada
[email protected]

Tagged:  Universities Canada news

← Previous
Sophie D’Amours, chair of Universities Canada: inaugural speech
Next →
Building Reconciliation Forum convenes university leaders and Indigenous communities

Related news

Universities Canada