University innovators among six winners of inaugural Governor General Innovation Awards

April 28, 2016
twitter icon facebook icon
Logo: Governor General

Canada’s innovation excellence recognized and celebrated

OTTAWA – The inaugural winners of the Governor General’s Innovation Awards include outstanding examples of the world-leading research and discovery taking place at Canada’s universities. Created by His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, the awards honour six remarkable Canadian individuals, teams and organizations who, through their imagination and ingenuity, contribute to our country’s success and inspire future generations of innovators.

Among the winners of the prestigious awards are:

  • Dalhousie University’s Dr. Jeff Dahn, one of the pioneering developers of the lithium-ion battery now used in electric vehicles and mobile devices;
  • The University of Alberta’s Dr. Robert Burrell, who discovered the world’s first therapeutic medical application of nanotechnology;
  • The University of Calgary’s Dr. Breanne Everett, the co-founder of a medical company that develops wearable technology to improve patients’ quality of life and reduce health care costs; and
  • The University of Manitoba’s Dr. Mark G. Torchia who, along with engineer Richard Tyc, created a medical device which uses lasers to treat otherwise-inoperable brain tumours.

For a full list of recipients see the Governor General’s innovation blog.

“These trailblazers are terrific role models for the young Canadians whose creativity and curiosity will do so much to shape Canada’s future,” says Elizabeth Cannon, president of the University of Calgary and chair of Universities Canada. “The Governor General’s Innovation Awards highlight the role of universities as engines of innovation. Working with partners in government and business, we’re committed to helping transform Canada into a globally recognized innovation nation.”

“Canadians can be proud of these outstanding innovators and their role in addressing the challenges facing our communities, country and world,” says Paul Davidson, president of Universities Canada. “It’s incredibly important that we recognize the innovative thinking that moves our country forward. We commend the Governor General for launching this new annual award.”

Recipients were selected by a committee of highly accomplished individuals from all sectors of society, including former principal of McGill University, Heather Munroe-Blum. Universities Canada is a nominating partner in the award program.



About Universities Canada
Universities Canada is the voice of Canada’s universities at home and abroad, advancing higher education, research and innovation for the benefit of all Canadians.

Media contact:

Lisa Wallace
Assistant Director, Communications
Universities Canada
[email protected]

Tagged:  Research and innovation

← Previous
An agile future through work-integrated learning
Next →
Universities and municipalities meet to strengthen collaboration for a better Canada

Related news

Universities Canada